Life unexpected : Tale of my HMI Journey: Final Chapter

img_20160919_105309339_hdr

Till now, i was doing good progress. Ten the day came for us to go to the Tenzing rock for Rock climbing and Rappling session. The first route was quite easy and i made it to the top on a single attempt. Second route, still easy and was able to go to the top. Then came the dreadful chimney climb. I was confident i would be able to climb that. My friend was belaying while i was going down the chimney. AT a certain stage we would have to jump to the bottom. When i jumped i think the rope was tight enough and hence i couldn’t go to the bottom easily which in turn made me try to grab the rock using my left arm. I realised something happened but by then my friend loosened the belay and i was down at the bottom.As soon as i was at the bottom of the chimney i realised i couldn’t move my left arm. I told the instructor ‘I can’t move my left arm sir”. He said, if i can try revolving it and check. Still wasn’t possible and i told him “I can’t move it at all”. By that time my left shoulder was dangling by the side and i knew I had dislocated it. The instructor somehow pulled me out with the help of others and i was made to sit for the remaining session. The pain was becoming unbearable and i was ruched to the institute doctor. Who along with his assistant reduced the shoulder back into its socket and informed me i can’t continue further with the mountaineering course since it takes about at least a month to properly heal and then too, i would have to work on regaining the strength for another few months. Well, you might be thinking there goes my dream of becoming a certified mountaineer. But no, i would be back to HMI again for the Basic Mountaineering Course next year and this time,  no rock can block my road.


Leave a comment